Help

Have you ever woken up at 3AM with an overwhelming sense of dread and dispair? Your whole body shaking, tingling with fear as you stare at the end of your bed, your eyes trying to adjust to the shadows around you. Sometimes the dark plays tricks on you. It feeds off of your insecurity and latches onto your happiness, slowly sucking the life from it like a leech feeding, draining it’s prey. It gets me every time, waking from the same awful nightmares that haunt my existence, the same dark figures always surround and engulf me. I imagine it’s what hell is like, nothingness apart from your worst fears personified, cloaked shadows follow each other as they circle me, little vulnerable me, rooted to the spot. In reality these dreams last only a few minutes but whilst I’m asleep days go by, sometimes weeks of terrifying ordeals, always the same figures. Sometimes I snatch a glance of their faces. I always expected gaping black holes under those cloaks but I can only describe it as true terror. When I see their faces my whole body stiffens, it’s like rigormortis sets in even though I am alive. Oh how I wish I was dead so this torture would end. I’ve thought about ending it myself, but maybe they’re waiting for me once I cross over and I can’t bare the thought of an eternity with them. It’s 3AM.  My eyes have adjusted to the black nothingness of the night. My body stiffens, my breath deepens, I freeze. They are surrounding me. I don’t know what reality is anymore. Help me.  

Leave a comment